Easy come, easy go.

26 Jan

Yesterday afternoon, things got a little funky. Maybe I’m due for a bit of karmic retribution, maybe I’m just too sensitive, or maybe, at the end of the day, I truly do reap what I sow – as Lou Reed once said.

 

So I went to Yoga yesterday and was able to release some tension in a very relaxing class- Day 11 complete! I’d also like to say that I have a huge friend crush on one of the Yoga instructors.

To clarify, a friend crush is when you really want to be someone’s friend.

She’s just so cool! I love that she hosts a women’s only class and knows the way to make our spines open up to their maximum potential. And for the record, she’s the one who inspired me to start the challenge two weeks ago. So shoutout to Yoga instructor, wherever you are. Stay bad, mama – stay bad.

I managed to stay compliant all day yesterday, despite the disappointing news I received after dinner last night.

After submitting an application to one of the schools I was hoping to attend to complete my Masters last Monday, just three days shy of their proposed deadline, I received an email last night saying I’d been rejected from admission.
They couldn’t even give it a week.

This definitely made me feel very, very unsure about myself and my first instinct was to race towards the kitchen to grab a couple of pieces of untoasted whole grain bread to snack on, with some nuts and cheese. But I resisted. I grabbed a banana and two dates instead, along with a cold bottle of water, quietly went back to my room, texted my sisters the news, locked the door and sobbed while I watched Breakfast At Tiffany’s.

Then, I took solace in the fact that at least I’m a much more balanced and together person than Holly Golightly ever was.

But today is another day, life goes on, and I still haven’t cheated on Whole30, and haven’t strayed with the Yoga challenge – although in last night’s dream, I almost missed my class.

Today marks Day 5 of the Whole30 challenge, and Vegan Vednesday was completed successfully. But you all know that I’ll be turning up with the animal proteins today.

Breakfast was three yolkless boiled eggs seasoned with pepper and some dry zaatar.

Snacks of the day will be a banana, grapefruit, and three thinly sliced strips of sweet potato paired with half an avocado to imitate “avocado toast”.

Lunch: Since it’s Thursday, and I (presumably) just got paid, I’ll be treating myself by ordering in from this safe looking place that could definitely whip up a compliant meal. Suffice to say, I’ll be calling them beforehand to demand a list of ingredients used in every element used to create my protein bowl.

Dinner: Dining out with my new gal pal post Hot Vinyasa Flow at a cute little eatery known for its very Paleo (in turn, Whole30) friendly menu.

Challenge of the day: not having a drink tonight, if the opportunity presents itself – because Lord knows I could use it.

With that in mind, I should get back to work.

Leave a Reply

