Good morning! (Or Goodnight, depending on where you’re reading this from)

25 Jan

Not much has happened since my last post, but I thought I’d update to warm up my fingers until the workload started coming in.

Wednesday morning welcomes in being day 4 Whole30 compliant and day 11 of the Yoga Challenge. The don’t think about men bit of the month isn’t going too well, as my dreams may suggest that it could be the hardest habit to kick.

Last night’s dream took place in a weird alternate universe resembling familiar places in my life: my family’s home, (specifically the balcony in my dad’s office, expanded to a rooftop terrace and posing as the venue for a collaborative show) a nondescript street combining qualities of the place where I used to live with where I currently live, struggling with old people to cross the road, and cheating with pizza while sitting on a greasy musician’s lap. Innocently, but I was still on his lap.

I mean, as long as none of that is happening in real life, I guess.

But truth be told, this morning while I was listening to Fiona Apple on my way to work, I made a strange connection between the men who have held my affection, interest and/or devotion over the past few years (well, the ones that mattered, at least): they each had one redeeming quality that was ideal in a strong partnership, a sole connection to offer me, yet completely lacked in everything else. I won’t get too into it because this blog shouldn’t be focused on my infatuations with the opposite sex, but about my progress during this month of wellness, but this morning’s epiphany accompanied with the gentle crooning of Fiona in “Paper Bag” resulted in me realising that I absolutely should remain emotionally abstained towards men for a while and give myself the love I deserve.

Because to quote Mama Ru: “If you don’t love yourself, how in the hell are you gonna love someone else! Can I get an amen up in here?”

Then I started wondering – if I had a stable relationship in my life, would I be doing this to begin with? Or would I be content having Spaghetti Aglio Olio with crushed red pepper flakes and freshly grated parmigiano reggiano for breakfast? (Not that I would ever do that, I’m strictly a “breakfast foods for breakfast” between 6am to 11:30 type of gal, but you get what I mean).

Anyway, if I were to ask myself that question maybe three years ago, sticking to such challenges would be dedicated to satisfying the male gaze, even if I didn’t admit it out loud. Nowadays? No way – this is strictly for ME. I want to be a healthy person, rid myself of bloat and bad skin, and feel the tone of my muscles in the back of my legs and arms. A man should appreciate me either way.

But enough about men! I swear if some conservative person were to google this, if they were REALLY looking, I’d probably go to jail just for talking about all that.

Today started out alright – I’ve been noticing a few things about my progress as I’ve been doing this whole clean eating thing. I’m not necessarily HUNGRY, but bread, cheese and chocolate have been creeping up in my mind, convincing me that I have some void in me that only those vices can fill.

I’ve also been eating WAY TOO MUCH fruit, I think. I’m starting to wonder if I’m doing this whole thing wrong! Didn’t cheat with nuts as much yesterday, but there was lots of fruit involved. I’d say a grand total of two bananas, five tangerines, and a half a grapefruit. Whole30 wants you to focus on veggies over fruit, but fruit is not NOT allowed. I should probably eat less fruit and google the rules a bit more.

DEFINITELY need to drink more water. I’m noticing that I’m barely drinking any water throughout the day, then chugging a few bottles at night. If any of you have any tips on how to remedy this, send me your WhatsApp messages!

So because today is Wednesday, and I seem to like adding more routine challenges within challenges within challenges, I hereby proclaim every Wednesday from now until February 22nd (incidentally, my last day of Whole30) Vegan Vednesday!

The rules: self explanatory. No meat, basically – and I can’t have dairy while I’m doing this anyway, so I cut out eggs on Wednesdays too to make the day completely vegan. So far, the only breakfast I could think of for this day was a banana chia pudding in a little mason jar. I think I did it wrong, though – not enough almond milk.

but that was only because said almond milk was questionable and I was a little afraid of it. I think this weekend’s project should be me taking a stab at making my OWN almond milk. I know it’s very possible, and in most cases easy, but like – how do I do it? How many almonds would it take? Oh, Google – what would I do without you.

Lunch will be seasoned zoodles with a homemade roasted cherry tomato and walnut pesto, pureed with two sneaky tspfuls of chopped up olives (that HOPEFULLY HAVE NO ADDED SUGAR TO THEM) and my homemade chilli infused olive oil- this experiment felt like I was running with scissors, honestly. I should just buy some plain old olives to have fun with. Anyway – we pan-seared three respectably sized mushrooms as a side dish to accompany this (inshallah) delicious concoction.

And if it sucks, well I don’t have a tiny bottle of Palestinian olive oil on my desk for nothing.

Snacks: Half an avocado, two tangerines, carrots and homemade almond butter (thanks, Auntie M.) and pumpkin seeds. But that’s IT! Those are the ONLY snacks I can have today.

Dinner: Cauliflower rice and Meatless mulukhiya (jute stew, or sometimes called “Jews Stew”, for some reason) Friends who are from a different culture need to try this – it’s sooooo good.

Today’s Yoga Class: 5:30pm, a women’s only Sun and Moon class where there will be lots of thrusting and heavy breathing with my tongue sticking out to open up my third chakra, which apparently needs a lot of work. Yesterday’s Backbend Flow was amazing, actually – it’s a class I’ll be going back to next week, and has inspired me to start experimenting with headstands! I think a low-key goal to set for myself within the next three months, if I stick to Yoga, will be to achieve a headstand of sorts. Too bad I’m so top-heavy I can’t even fathom the possibility – but hey, they ain’t called challenges for nothing!

Before I go, I need some advice. So, before December, I was great at going to the gym. I’d go about four times a week and was meeting with a trainer since March, which gave me a lot of great results. Since then, my gym activity had faltered to one or two times a week at best, and my membership only JUST expired. I haven’t been paying it any mind because since Yoga, I’ve been like “what gym!”

But while I love Yoga, it might not be enough on its own – I kind of miss cardio and kettlebells.

My original plan was to renew my membership for 6 months, since I might be leaving the country by the end of the summer, and kicking the trainer to the curb in favour of extending my yoga membership for an additional 6 months, dividing my exercise between the two outlets.

Perks of the gym: Gym resources, steam room, fun pool life in the spring and summer where most of my friends go and we reconvene over drinks, tanning (which I shouldn’t be doing because of laser) and general tomfoolery. The gym also offers a great Yoga class, but it’s only once a week – I WOULD like to practice more throughout the week – ideally, 3-4 times.

Cons of the gym: The cost, while affordable, is a tad on the heftier side, and I would feel a little too indulgent if I were to be a brat and invest in both outlets. I’d really have to make the most of my investment(s) in that scenario.

Perks of Yoga: I’ve really been getting into it! I’ve always loved Yoga and practicing every day has only enhanced my everyday life. I’m sleeping a little better, and focusing way more than I used to. I’m still irritable, but I’m sure that could go away with time.

Cons of Yoga: a 6 month membership costs as much as the gym, but it also costs as much as like, 36 classes. I’m worried if I do a “pay as you go” situation, I would’ve ended up spending as much (or even more) for less value than an unlimited option. Also, it costs as much as renewing my training sessions 5-6 times within the next few months. Plus, Yoga is way more patient and amicable than my trainer, but he DOES bring me faster results.

WHAT DO I DO?

We all know that decision making isn’t my strongest quality, so if anyone has any words of wisdom, please let me know. That is, if any of you are actually reading this, or have come this far.

Wow, this was a long post! Back to work! (upside-down smiley.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

