Polka dots and Floral Prints

10 Apr

Upon waking up at noon (a recent Sunday ritual) My roommate (who will be known as Keeks) informed me that she’d just come back from running at Parc LaFontaine.

Lets just take a detour here: I’m passed out at noon, and you’ve just come back from running?

Keeks, this reminds me of you.

Now that that’s out of the way, we make a unanimous decision to bask in the sunless 15 degree weather and take a walk around our bohemian borough.

Now as you all may know, Keeks and I have a sense of style that we’re incredibly proud of. We enjoy taking risks, and even a trip to the grocery store can be as exciting as the cat-walk, so the occasion of this outing (a lazy sunday) was no exception. Lately, I’ve been contemplating the age-old riddle: To mix prints? Or not to mix prints?

On Friday, I’d happened to see a situation that struck me as interesting on the seventh floor of the EV building (the infamous BFA student filled study haven located next to the student run, vegetarian Cafe X) A girl was wearing a FABULOUS polka dot print top coupled with a divine floral-print skirt. Polka dots and Flowers? I know.. I was skeptical at first too. She pulled it off, but it’s like the side shaved head thing- I know it looks great, hell I’m even contemplating it (Oh, like any of you are surprised)

So I tried out the look.. We were personally on the fence about this one, but the delicate polka dot print of my blouse definitely softened the look, while the reminiscent shoulder pads added some oomph. To play up the oomph, I was about to finish off the unlikely outfit with one of my most treasured possessions: my Vintage Michael-Jackson esque shoulder padded black cropped leather jacket (I am aware of this description being a grammatical catastrophe, however must admit: I’m salivating just THINKING about that jacket.) But we opted for a jean jacket instead, given to us by our dear Torontonian friend, Sarah (Sare, Bear, Ratch.)

The look altogether made me nostalgic of my childhood days. I felt like I was going on a field trip or something. I felt like 13 years have passed and I’m still wearing the same outfit, only I’m taller, and my hair isn’t in pigtails. Oh and I have a bunch of pins and needles coming out of my face.

I think that the overall outfit without the jacket did good- especially added with doc martens and nude(ish) tights.

The tights were kind of ugly though- I wish they were more neutral. They were purchased at the American Apparel warehouse sale in Namur about a month ago, though. American Apparel tights for four bucks.. especially if there’s a seam in the back? I would even buy the atrocious neon orange tights for that price!

Now, for the Doc Martens. Tip: Ladies, when wearing Doc Martens, go for tights/bare legs, and high waisted flouncy skirts. Especially if it is a patterned skirt. The look may be too Dawson’s Creek for some of you, but hey- better Jen Lindley than Marissa Cooper.

And remember, we brought back the look šŸ˜‰

What’s your verdict? Do we love this way-too 90’s look? Or are we just a dark shade of lipstick and a maxi skirt away from being a disaster?

3 Responses to “Polka dots and Floral Prints”

  1. everydayisarunway April 10, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    I like the look, anything boring/normal is a disaster in itself. The Doc Martins were a great touch, and i’m not a Doc Martins fan. Personally i like Joey from dawsons creek, but i do like jen. The tights from american apparel- great steal, and if you had bought the orange- i’d can see high waisted white shorts with a neutral or lace shirt/v neck/ blouse/button down.

    xoxo

    • smeeinthecity April 11, 2011 at 12:32 am #

      Oh wow. Who ARE you, you beautiful creature! Haha!
      High waisted white shorts- I could do that, but because I’m very hourglass (big top, small waist, wider bottom) I think they might look a little skanky on me.
      High Waisted white shorts with the jean jacket make me think, though..

      Happy reading! šŸ™‚

      • everydayisarunway April 11, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

        thanks! and i would go for the high waisted shorts and jean jacket. maybe think about wedges? I know those are like more famous than pancakes at ihop right now haha.

        xoxo

Leave a Reply

